Grief and Loss

by Jill Beavers-Kirby

Questions about the lecture
My Notes
  • Required.
Save Cancel
    Learning Material 2
    • PDF
      Slides Grief and Loss Beavers-Kirby.pdf
    • PDF
      Download Lecture Overview
    Report mistake
    Hi, today we are going to be talking about Grief and Loss. My name is Jill Beavers-Kirby. There are different types of grief. The first is normal grief. This is expected, emotional and behavioral reaction to a loss. Next we have anticipatory grief. This occurs before the impending loss. This is the process of letting go. The third type of grief is complicated grief and this can be intense long lasting grief. The person is unable to move forward. And finally disenfranchised grief. This is when the heart is grieving but the person is unable to let got. Elizabeth Kuler Ross was a psychiatrist who was known for her theory of the 5 stages of the grief. The 1st stage is Denial. This is a defense mechanism where the person denies that this grief is actually happening. This is usually a temporary reaction. The next stage is Anger. Where the person gets angry toward the actual event, the person, the healthcare workers for the actual disease. The 3rd stage is Bargaining. This is where the person tries to bargain with the actual event "If only i had taken that patient to the hospital sooner." "If only i hadn't taken that turn we would be in a car accident." The 4th stage is Depression. This is the sadness, regret, and worry that goes along during this stage. And finally, the last stage is Acceptance. This is when you accept the grief and the loss. However, not everybody gets to this stage. This full grieving process can take up to a year. So what are the symptoms associated with Normal Grief? Some of the feelings that a person may experience are: Anger, Depression, Numbness, Guilt, Loneliness. Some cognitive changes you may notice. The patient may have trouble concentrating. It may be disoriented...

    About the Lecture

    The lecture Grief and Loss by Jill Beavers-Kirby is from the course Psychosocial Integrity. It contains the following chapters:

    • Grief and Loss
    • 5 Stages of Grief
    • Legal Implications
    • Autopsies
    • Types of Loss

    Author of lecture Grief and Loss

     Jill Beavers-Kirby

    Jill Beavers-Kirby

    Customer reviews

    5,0 of 5 stars
    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1  Star